Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Knowledge is all around us and can be acquired by varies means. University serves as a fundamental resource of knowledge and the first step in an oriented career and hence students focus on what leads to excellency in one’s path. Therefore, I'm against how the university is trying to force students to take some compulsory basic courses despite what their major is. And I feel this way for the following reasons.

To begin with, university should be a stepping stone for a specific target. In other words people attend college with a certain mindset to achieve a goal by requiring all they can get from their professors in a limited amount of time. Thus adding a course they are not interested in but yet are obligated to pass is considered a waste of time and effort. For example, my brother who is a medical student is having a hard time catching up on all his courses and trying to keep his grades up, which will entitle him for a good internship position. He still needs to take a compulsory math class which not only doesn’t serve his career choice, but also has the ability to negatively impact his scores.

Secondly, it’s not democratically correct to force students to take extra courses just because a certain entity believes in it’s importance. Despite how some people think that not educating the younger generation on their historical backgrounds is like a tree without roots. I however think that the university should give students the right to choose and hence willing to exert a corresponding amount of effort. Moreover, not all knowledge can be learnt in a classroom and anyone can widen their historical information by either searching the internet or going to the library. For instance, I remember when I watched the movie "Interstellar" and I was so engrossed in astrophysics and that compelled me to search the internet on these topics even-though it had nothing to do with my major or career.

To sum it up, I think that forcing university students to take any course that is not their primary concern should not be permitted for the reasons I mentioned above. And because I strongly believe that no matter how important the class, if it was not for the ears of an interested person will mean absolutely nothing.