Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally speaking, it is important to learn about the past. It is thought by many people that only students who are interesting in the history courses should learn about it, rather than every one. In my opinion, learning history would help students to broaden their knowledge, and become better citizens.

First of all, universities should really take into consideration the fact that making history courses mandatory for students, regardless their preferences would be a good indicator of expanding student's knowledge. If universities do not put history in their curriculum then, young learners will not have a chance to know more about history. This is because they may pick other subjects, rather than history, so that the chance to get informed about what had happened in the past would be drastically reduced. For instance, two decades ago, when I was still a student, the classes that I choose were independent, so I never picked the history course. After I graduated, it happened that my new social circle loved to talk about the historic events. Being at that environment, actually I felt embarrassed because I had no clue about history. If I had taken any of the history classes that would have changed my contribution to the conversations, held by my friends. According to this experience, students should learn about history, so they would have a chance to broaden their background.

Another vivid viewpoint is that knowing the history of your country or even better the history of the entire world, students would become better citizens. For example, statistics have revealed that 87 percent of young adults, who had a general knowledge about the history of the world, they were proactive and understood the problems that the world is facing. In addition, they were capable of finding new solutions for different situations that appeared to be a repetition of the same past events. Therefore, these people were categorizes as citizens who gave their contribution to make the world the better place to live in. That is why universities should provide history classes for their students.

In conclusion, young adults should study history throughout their academic year. This is because they will be able to broaden their knowledge, and because they are going to be better citizens by contributing to their society and the world.