Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern world, universities, through courses they provide, educate people, and shape their future. Universities usually have some required courses and optional ones. Some people think that universities should force students to take some history courses, and others believe otherwise. I, based on my knowledge and experience, believe that students, whose majors are not related to history, should not be required to take history courses. The reasons why I think so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, taking irrelevant courses will distract students from their major. I mean, students have limited time, and they should focus on their own courses. Fields like engineering or medicinal science require a significant amount of studying and hard work. If the university adds new history requirements, students will have to split their time. Put some of it on history courses, which is not beneficial for their future. As a result, they have less time and energy for their essential classes. My own example illustrates this reality. A few years ago, when I was studying Civil Engineering at the university, the university added two new history requirements about the war between Iran and Iraq. Those courses were full of unnecessary information, and we had to take it before the sixth semester. I took them in the fifth semester, which I had so many fundamental courses like concrete frame and steel frame designs. However, I had to study those history courses too. That semester I did not get a good grade on my basic courses because I had two unimportant but time-spending classes.

Second, some students are not interested in history or such courses at all, so they can not enjoy it or learn from it. Studying history needs a lot of time to memorize some dates and names in the past. Many engineering students are interested in calculations and solving problems and do not care about things that happened in the past. Moreover, many art students who possess the ability of imagination and ingenuity do not have any interest in reading about past events. These types of students do not want to go to history classes, and even if they attend, they will not listen to the teacher or do the projects and homework. Consequently, they will not learn anything, and it is just a waste of time.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that university should not require all students to take history courses. It will distract them from their own majors. Also, many students are not interested in history, so they will not learn it anyway.