Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to learning subjects in the university, there will always be a myriad of problems to be encountered. Whether students should take history courses regardless of their majors is always a debatable issue. Some believes that the knowledge of history is useless in the future, while others insists that history is our root and should always be kept in mind. After deliberating over such problem, I agree with the statement noted in the question due to my personal experiences.

First of all, it is rather important to be aware of the events happened in the past and the influences of them. Some of the remarkable incidents can still play important roles in our life. For example, the relationship between Taiwan and China has been extremely tense since over a hundred of years ago. Numerous events have occurred since then. Surprisingly, the tension between us has continued. Hence, by learning the history can help us know more about the situation and our attitudes to face it.

Secondly, requiring knowledge about history can also provide us more topics to chat with people. In short, we can easily come up with a relevant event in history to continue the conversation. On the contrary, without that knowledge, then the atmosphere could be rather awkward if the talk cannot go on. Taking an example of mine, once I attended an important meeting with a client and provided several historical events to describe and summarize our project. As a result, the client gradually altered his attitude toward us and eventually agreed to make a deal with us.

Last but not least, it is encouraging to learn about history because we might accidentally get the philosophy hidden in those historical events. This might come in handy if we can apply the concept in history to our daily lives. For instance, some successful entrepreneurs will recommend the book called The Art of War written by Sun Tzu. They believed the strategies used at war can effectively be applied to aid them to deal with business decisions.

All in all, given the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that it is definitely essential to take history courses in all universities. That is not to say that other opinions are completely out of merits. Nevertheless, I believe my points of view are fully capable of firmly supporting my position.