Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Study of every subjects have their own importance in the student life. History subject also have various impacts on the knowledge and thinking process of the students. But are history courses required for all university students or are they do not have such vital role in shaping their careers?. Certainly, some people if asked would agree with the statement that all university students should be required to take history courses, while others would say that the question is double-edged due to a great deal of factors involved. As far as I am concerned, I adopt the firm position that history courses should be compulsory for all the university students. I feel this way for two main reasons that I will explore in the following essay.

The first exquisite point to be mention is that studying history would provide them a background knowledge about their recent studies. It is always important to have basic knowledge about the subject in order to excel in the subject. If the student is aware about the origin of the things, it will help them to understand groung level realities about the subject. Sometimes they are directly related to their field of study and sometimes indirectly. But they do have some of the relations with the initial phases of the study. My own experience is a best example for that. When I was in my undergrad program, Physics was my major subject and I chose to study history course as well. The history course helped me understand that the concepts so well that I started feeling Physics very easy for me. Hence, I scored highest marks in Physics in the whole university. When I did not started history subjects, my basic knowledge of the subject was very much poor and I was a average student in the class. History course helped to master the subject.

Having discussed the importance of ground level knowledge of the subject, let us now move on to another aspect that is the knowledge of various subjects. When you study different courses, it is obvious that you gain lot of knowledge about the world. It helps in strengthing of your general knowledge which will be with you throughout you life and will keep helping you in various endeavors of your life. For example, When I applied for masters program, the prefernce for admission will be given to those students who had more number of subjects as well as also studied other courses like history in their undergrad. Which helped me in myriad ways to get admission in master course in a top university of my country.

In conclsion I strongl;y believe that history courses should be compulsory for all the university students. This is because it not only help in boosting your basic knowledge but also provide knowledge of various subjects.