Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the year dot, history have been one of the most precious gifts that our ancestors have bestowed upon today’s human being. However, knowledge about the history of our ancestor has become one of the crucial issues for people who study at universities, some of whom are of the opinion that any student should take some courses about history, while other believe that only a part of students who has relative field to history should take these kinds of courses. I subscribe to the first group rather than the second for a quite a few reasons, two substantial ones which will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First, one of the most significant parts of a nation is its culture. Culture has a different definition in any field. Historian’s definition of culture is different in some aspects. They define it as our ancestors' beliefs that influence our traditions and behaviors. By this definition, we can identify the importance of history, and what our past generations do for us. By knowing about history, we can improve our self-confidence which we left in the past. All nations have a history that can improve their today’s problems. For example, our ancestors had great respect for nature, and they believed that the earth is our “mother”. By this belief, they did not destroy elements of nature such as trees and animals, and when they had to cut a tree or hunt an animal, they allowed nature to recover. Nevertheless, these kinds of behaviors are rare in today’s humans, and they use all sources until they access them.

Second, studying the history ones a wide view of quite a few issues that we can learn from them. Humans’ lives have so many limitations that one cannot experience most of the issues. Therefore, history opens us a window into the past. In the past, there were plenty of people who we can consider them as a role model for our communities, and learn from their lives. For instance, Mahatma Gandhi is one of the famous people that we can learn from his life. He had a simple life, but, by concentrating his life, we can find out the route of freedom and fighting with enemies. In history, there are many these kinds of people who can inspire our lives.

In conclusion, the culture and the valuable experience are important issues which we can get from history, and other sciences do not have these properties. As a result, studying history not only is essential for students but also is necessary for all people of the communities.