Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

History plays crucial roles in any society and receives great attention in recent years. In this environment, although some people think that it is important for all university students to take history courses on account of its merits including gaining precious knowledge and experience through it, I totally disagree with this outlook. In the following paragraphs, I explain my reasons to clarify my attitude.

First and foremost, different students have different interest which based on their willing, they choose their majors. It is crystal clear that taking history courses is boring and difficult for a lot of students who their field of study is not history or associated with them. Under these circumstances, students become frustrated and hate to learn about history which adversely affect the country. This is because they neither read history books nor watch history movies in their free time and become completely unfamiliar with their country's history. To illustrate, consider my own experience as a compelling example. I liked to read stories about world wars before entering university and through which, I increased my general information incredibly. Unfortunately, I had to take a history course in the university which was tedious, and I got a bad grade in it. After that time, I disguised history and gave up my previous habit. This example demonstrates the catastrophic consequences of taking history courses by all students.

Moreover, when all students take history courses, the competition for getting a job in this field becomes very hard which is not fair for students whose major is history. There are numerous job positions which ignore the major of applicants and concentrate only on their knowledge and some specific courses. It goes without saying that should all students take history courses, there will be a lot of qualified applicants for such positions and will decrease the chance of history students to get the job. A recent research conducted in my country verified this claim. More than 50 percent of employees in associated works with history were not history students. Consequently, in a long term, there are less students that choose history as their major which reduces expertise in this important field of study.

In conclusion, based on the aforementioned details and examples, I think that taking history courses for all university students is not a good idea. This is because not only is history boring and difficult for students whose major is not correlated to history, but also this policy decreases the chance of being employed for history students, and the less chance of success, the less professionals.