Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

In this progressive and sophisticated world, the role of extended family in our lives is a common debate among people. In my opinion, the extended family is not essential, like the past. I will illustrate my main reasons.

Firstly, the peoples' connection is changing because of modern life. In modern life, people prefer to live separately, and most people emphasize on their privacy. They are looking for someone who has a common point of view with themselves. Also, social media plays a crucial role in our lives, and it creates a new shape for our families. We connect with other members of our families by social media, and it provides a new connection for us worldwide through the internet. Gradually, new people are replaced by our family, and we only connect with our parents. For example, I have not seen my cousins for a long time because I am an artist, and they are not resemblance to me, and I made new friends and went to a new country to start a new job.

Secondly, the extended family is a threat to the new lifestyle because it has many complex traditions that we must do it. It determines many rules for us and limits our lives. Actually, it is annoying. Nowadays, the extended family is not as important as the past because the extended family tries to intervene in the peoples' lives, but they do not like it. They like to decide for their lives in contrast to the past that grandparents were deciding for them, and it was hateful. For instance, I remember that my friend did not want to be a doctor, but their family is forcing him to do that. Actually, he loves art and wanted to go to an art university. His grandfather was a famous doctor who made that decision. After some years, he left his job because he did not like it, and he was suffering from dejection.

In sum, the extended family is not as important as the past because modern life does not allow it to intervene in our lives and determine what we should do or what we should not do. Also, most people are sensitive about their privacy in their lives.