Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Family is the holiest and fundamental thing that everyone has. We love our grandparents, aunts, uncles, and all of our relatives. Since we were a child, we went to their home's especially on specific days like Christmas. We got together and had a nice time with each other. There is an opinion now a day the extended family is less important than it was in the past. Some people, including me, accept this opinion. In this essay, I am going to explain three potential reasons to convince you.

First of all, many years ago most of the family was in the same town and lived near each other, but now everyone lives in different cities even countries and continents. As people live far from their relatives their connection weakened and debilitated than before. For example, my aunts and grandparents lived in the same vicinity and we lived in another city. When we traveled there, I always was happy because I could see them and they were near to each other. while now they separated and scattered all over the world that I have to spend 1 week to see just one of them.

Secondly, as the lifestyle changed quickly and everyone has to adapt to this type of life, many things altered. After the industry and technology revolution, our lives are much busier than lives in the past. With the limited time, we can't concern much about the extended family since we are more occupied with jobs or close family issues. For instance, in the past, we just scheduled an appointment to visit them, but now everyone has to check if anyone is busy or not. They just can't schedule a time that they would all be available.

Finally, the last thing I want to say and it has a huge influence on this type of connection is the change in adults and teenagers. Most young people like to spend time with their friends rather than their family members. Visiting grandparents is necessary and is a sign of respect, but young people hardly have fun with them. On the contrary, being with friends of the same age is so funny and enjoyable. So, this is not surprising that youth do not like to spend time with extended family members often.

In short, although we still regard our extended relatives as an important part of our lives, the distance between the families, and a faster pace of individual lives, and behavioral change in youth have caused them to be less important compared to the past.