Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s turbulent economic environment, it is difficult for countries to decide which areas they should spend money on. Some people believe that it is important to fund the arts, while others feel that it is preferable to prioritize athletics issues. In my opinion, funding the arts is more important than supporting the athletics. To support this, there are several reasons, two of which are going to be explored in the following essay.

To begin with, sponsoring arts means more ordinary people have the chance to savor the beauty of different kinds of artworks. For instance, if government could invest more money to help musicians hold more concerts and reduce the ticket prices, then more people would become willing to listen to music in a concert hall instead of watching TV in their houses. The spell of music would not only make people more peaceful, civilized and polite, it also helps them release the stresses of their daily lives, refreshing their minds to meet new challenges.

Moreover, while funding sports seems a good idea, it is entirely possible for athletic and sport programs to be privately funded. Many businesses and individuals are willing to make donations to athletes in exchange for promotional considerations. Many sport teams can get famous sponsors due to the fact that their matches broadcasts from the media. Not only that, but the Internet has made it possible for athletes to fund their work through online social networking sites. For instance, there is a community sport team in my hometown which recently lost a significant portion of its public funding following recent budget cuts by the municipal government. While the situation looked dire at first, the team was able to attract financial support from companies who wished to have their logo displayed on the sport team matches. In addition, the group looked to the Internet and raised money from individual donors who were happy to help their favorite team. This example demonstrates some of the methods that sport teams can use to attract funding to replace government support. In contrast, art activities can not get famous sponsors and raise fund using such methods.

However, it should also be noted that if the government spent more money in sponsoring in athletics, it might bring people a sense of honor when the athletes win the first titles in the Olympic Games, but this has little to do with people's daily life. Therefore, the advantages of spending more money in sponsoring arts still outweigh investing in athletics.

In conclusion, I feel that if the government is forced to make a choice, it should choose to fund arts rather than sports. I feel this way because it offers people more opportunities to appreciate artworks and because sports can often be privately funded.