Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the importance of the role which knowledge plays in modern society. Due to the wide-ranging aspect of the various information, it is quite clear that ones' capacity to gain knowledge is limited. A controversial question that is raised in this area is whether one should focus on one particular subject or should acquire shallow understanding from various disciplines. Although some may hold the view that being versatile and having diverse information is of significant importance, I believe that considering the current competitive environment, It is better to be a professional in one subject instead of being the jack of all trade and master of none.

First and foremost, it is crystal clear that in today's job market prowess plays an important role. One should gain the necessary skills in the academic environment to achieve a prosperous career. For instance, Linked in, which is the number one app related to the academic profession, insists on the specialty that everyone should acquire.

Another equally important reason for being a master in a particular subject is the competitive atmosphere dominant to the job market. Individuals who broaden their knowledge during academic studying often could not go deep into the matter; as a result, they lag behind the professional rivals who have limited knowledge but they are masters of their work. For example, If you look at the higher education vacancies, which are looking for new candidates, their priority is to be specialists in one subject; for example, a Ph.D. position for classical design with a focus on Roman remains in the Milan.

Last but not least, It is undeniable that information about various subjects is crucial in some works. But a limitation of time for an individual keeps them from being experts in diverse areas. So in the areas that different knowledge required, it is predicted that cooperation of the various professors, could help tackle the problems.

To sum up, I think it is now clear that broad information, which is shallow, could not contribute to tackling the practical issues. Thus, experts who have focused their studies on one subject could resolve the problems effectively.