do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People attend universities or academic institutes for various reasons. Some people consider it as a challenge and others take it as a new experience. People gain knowledge in these places and be prepared for their future jobs and at the end become an expert. In my opinion, If you want to become successful in your career it's better to attend universities or academic institutes which foster you in a specific subject and make you an expert in that area. I will explain my reasons in the following paragraphs:

First and foremost, it is impossible for us to learn every aspect of many specialized subjects. Some scholars resemble this as a sea with a depth of one meter, it means your knowledge is not deep enough. If we want to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects, is good for our general information. But we have to be aware that it doesn't make us expert in that area so we can't make money out of it. Having a broad knowledge in many academic subjects is good if we are planning to participate in a TV contest

Second, We live in a world in which accessibility to lots of information is not too hard you can just google something, and in less than one second you can have the information. So having a lot of knowledge in many subjects doesn't make you special, if you want to find a well-paid career you need to know something which others don't have and this won't happen unless you are an expert in a specific subject.

Needless to say, there is no contradiction in being an expert and does have some knowledge in various areas, but for subsistence in our life, we have to be expert in one area at least.

On the other hand, one way to acquire knowledge and expertise in one area is attending university. University is a place which you can gain knowledge and be valuable to society. I strongly believe most people should attend university in order to get prepared for future jobs.

In conclusion, I believe having a broad knowledge in various academic subjects is not bad but it's not sufficient. We need to specialize in specific subjects, in order to find a respected profession and others could count on us.