Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the all human history, gaining knowledge has been a crucial facet of people’s life. But, as far as learning knowledge is concerned, some are of the opinion that having knowledge in many majors, even if it be shallow, is useful than gaining expertise by focusing on one while, others think otherwise. I—for one—subscribe to the latter idea on the ground that being specialist in one issue has many advantages namely, finding better jobs, obtaining more self-fulfillment, and also being effective, to name but a few.

To begin with, in today’s business world this the practical use of one’s knowledge rather than theoretical training that matters. Professions and occupations now demand more specialists instead of theoreticians. They need the work force that can help their company thrive. So being expert in one major and being able to solve complicated problems in a job is more important than having a vast information about many unrelated subjects.

Second, self-satisfaction is one of the most important aspects of one’s life. When people can have profound knowledge about something, they can gain more acclaim and find a social position which bring immense joy and satisfaction for them. According to the latest statistics, students who attend in a broad university education has less self-fulfillment than other students since, gaining miscellaneous knowledge has proven useless and has been source of confusion to them.

Last but not least, by learning various and unrelated subjects one can not be as effective as he o she need to be in society. More precisely, having diverse but shallow information in a broad major, would not be useful for the society and the laborious expenses that has been impose to government with regard to education can not be compensated.

All in all, taken into account all the above mentioned reasons, I do believe that people should gain expertise and be specialists rather than having inefficient knowledge in many majors. On the ground that gaining expertise can help them to find better jobs, have more self-stisfaction and be more effective in society.Why should students clutter up their minds with different, unrelated subjects?