Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are some moot points about the methods to do research. The question of whether it is better to use printed material such as book and article or use the internet has aroused as a subject of controversy among academicians. When it comes to my position, with weighing up the pros and the cons, I strongly subscribe to the point that it is better to use the internet than printed materials. I have some reasons, the most outstanding of which will be aptly explicated in the ensuing paragraphs.

The first reason worth discussing here is that there is a vast source of materials on the internet consequently, we can find everything that we need for our research. To be more specific, today each book and article first published on the internet and after that be available as printed materials. As a case to the point, I vividly remember when I was a sophomore student at the university I had a project about soil stabilization in Germany which had a site similar to our country site. Therefore, I should find some articles about that site in Germany. I could not find any printed material at our university library but on the internet, there was everything which I need to do my project. My personal experience competently corroborates to the point that on the internet we can find huge materials very easily which there are not in printed condition.

By the same token, another paramount reason to be mentioned here is that in respect to increasing in paper cost, printed materials are too expensive. Thus, many students cannot afford to buy these materials, however, on the internet, everything is free or have a low-cost which all students can use them. Moreover, universities provide computer sites for students to download these kinds of materials freely. My personal example demonstrates this reality. In that project, I realized that some articles were monetary which I could not download that with my personal computer. My professor advised me to use university computer because they bought the monopoly of these articles and students could download these materials conveniently. My personal example shed some light to the point that it is better to get our materials on the internet.

To wrap it up, according to the aforementioned reasons, I reiterate that, using the internet for doing research is better than printed materials. The internet, not only provide vast materials for us but also, are free and have low-cost toward published materials.