Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that one of the most important ways of selling a product more, is an advertisement. Some people believe that companies want their products to seem much better than what they are. Others hold the position that advertisers do not exaggerate on their programs and treat fairly. I, personally, am inclined to the former one and believe that advertisements make products seem in a better way in comparison with what they are. In the following paragraphs, I explain my reasons to clarify my viewpoint.

The first reason which comes to my mind is that the goal of the advertising is to sell more. Companies spend a large amount of money to let them products be known for people and they expect to have more demand for their commodities. Therefore, advertisers should persuade people to buy the product by showing them the good features of it. commonly, inappropriate quality of a product is neglected and useful characteristics are accentuated. In this way, people who watch the advertisement will be more familiar with the benefits of the products and will compel to provide them for themselves. Therefore, the company will reach its aim of spending money on introducing its product.

Another reason which deserves being mentioned here is that there is a lot of similar products available to people. People should make a decision that which of them they want and which is more suitable for their needs. Consequently, the company wants to show that its product is better than others and give a guarantee to the customers that are the best choice for them. The company, with advertising, wants to handle the market and do not let their rivals to sell more than them. For example, there is two big car factory in my country. The car which they produce has a lot of faults and some global standards have not been considered during their designs. Although, in the TV advertisement, both of them just focus on their new options and convenient facilities and do not mention about the real situation of the cars. None of them want to lose competence and tell the truth in their advertisements.

To sum up, based on the aforementioned paragraphs, companies which spend a large amount of money for advertisement, expect that earn more money by selling more. Then, advertisements not only should let companies sell more but also should let them won the game with their rivals.