Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, some people believe young people are more independent and often make their own minds than youngsters in the old times. I totally agree with that viewpoint and my reasons are as follows.

First off, with the help of the Internet and other media, young people can obtain more information in the 21st century. Take me as an example, when I was a high school student, I need to think about my future, like what am I gonna do and what major should I choose or which university should I apply to. To be honest, I can hardly ever receive any valuable advice from my parents since they are both just graduated from high school. Luckily, there is a professional website telling students detailed data about university choices. It listed the scores requirement last year and provides an elaborated introduction about each major. So it is not an exaggeration to say that parents' advice is not the only way that teenagers can count on these days.

Furthermore, the second reason is that thoughts have been changed today and young individuals tend to be more independent. My grandpa shared his story with me once, when he was a little boy, everything need to be settled by his parents even marriage. My grandpa never met my grandma until wedding night and everything was arranged by their parents. In that time, what parents say is the most vital guidance in their life. By contrast, from my perspective, people are more likely to listen to their own minds about which person they like and who they want to share the rest of their lives with. As a consequence, there is no doubt that time has changed and the spirit of independence prevails today.

Finally, what parents tell us may not fit into the real-time situation. That is to say, we may feel embarrassing to share our deepest secrets of mind with our parents, which causes their advice may not help us that well. For example, my old friends know us the best and they will never judge us and just accept us for who we are. When hanging out with them, we do not need to choose our words meticulously and we can joke about the most embarrassing moment without the fear of being judged. On the contrary, we can hardly share this with our parents. And this may cause our parents do not to know our true problem and their solution helps little.

To sum up, based on the reasoning above, I would claim that young people depend on themselves more than old days.