Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them. Today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific details and examples to support your answer

There is an agrument among people on the youth deciding for their lives based on their parents ideas. Some think that todays young poeple are as depended on their parents as they have been in past years. On the contrary, other belive that nowadays children are more independent of their parrents views to make up their minds than before. In my opinion, kids are more relying on themselve to make decisions than the past. Because our today society values are accentuating more and more on individualism. Also, modern school structures are leading students to increase their independenc of their parents. I will explain my reasons in detail hereunder.

First, Our society is eventually taking steps towards individualism and liberty . Put differently, one of the modern values of a successful society is that every person has its own personality and lives the way he/she wants. Human modern community appreciates diversity and independence. On the contrary, 500 years ago people were still be living in extended families and parents used to make all the dicisions for their childerns. Also, society did not value a child who wanted to live independed of his/her family and blamed him/her for being rude or disespectful to his/her parrents. By passing from concensional to modern era, viewes of children toward parents role in their decision changed. Today, children do not think of making independent decision as an impolite way of atitude.

Second, our modern school teaching methods prepare our students to be more and more independent. In other words, schools teach kids to make their minds by themselves. For example, in elementry school children will be teaching how to decide which food have to eat whitout asking their parents. Therfore, they will learn to choose healthy food even if their parents are not there to decide for them or guide them. Hence, children will rely on their own wisdom and knowledge to choose their ways.

To sum up, modern children are more independent of their parents to make decisions than past children. As todays cultural values are emphasize on individualism and also modern teaching ways prepare student to be more independent of others including their own parents to make decisions.