Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Traditionally, parents serve as a role model for their children. And throughout history children have made their decision with the help of their parents. Personally, I believe that nowadays children are more independent. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, parent’s influence is on the decline due to the direct or indirect advancments of the internet. In modern era everyone can get their information they need from online sources. So you do not need somebody in your family to share their information. People easily have access to various sources about variety of subjects. Moreover, people can share their experiences so we can learn and make our decision with those experiences not only our parents.

My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I wanted to choose my field of study my parents always said to me you should choose an engirening filed. But, I did not like this field so, I browsed the internet I read a lot about engiering and I gained a lot of knowledge about this filed. For instance somebody wrote about pros and cons of this filed. When I read that article I decided not to choose this field. And, I could convince engerieng is not sutiable for me. So, I searched about mathematics and I felt in love with mathematics and I almost finish my master degree in mathematics.

Secondly, due to the technology problems which children will face them are more complicated. Therefore, parents have not good advices for their children. So, it is natural to expect children get advice from people who have a same problem. Or, atleast faced with similar problems in their life. Because, children think their parents could not give practical advices to them. As a result, they think they cannot rely on their parents.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that in recent years children less dependend on their parents in comparision to the past. This is because children have accssess to different sources, which are more complete and because children encounter with problems that parents did not face in their life.