Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

It is axiomatic that in today's progressive world where we live, human beings can gain a lot of information from several sources. Although people in the past can only obtain their knowledge through teachers. While many individuals believe that teachers have to be esteemed and appreciated, on the other hand, others hold the opinion that so as to educators are not the only source of knowledge, so they are not invaluable persons as the past. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the former idea, and the reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, it is crystal clear due to the advance of technology, different means to obtain information and knowledge are prepared for people. To be more specific, high-end technologies such as smartphones, tablets, laptops to name but a few; in turn, humans can quench their thirst for taught and lessons. Since having access to various type of information, dependence on teachers have been decreased in recent decades. As a result, students find their path only after they become familiar with the internet. Children can learn their lessons through online applications and websites like Youtube. Ultimately, educators lose their stage in society and they are not the main source of knowledge for learners.

Moreover, schools become a more friendly space for students in contemporary times. In the past, institutions use a lot of harsh manners and methods to learn their students. The punishments in schools were more than the modern era, students had to obey rules and criteria in an educational place. Also, teachers were more stringent in their class and a lot of assignments and projects delegated to students. In turn, children have to respect their masters and they had an incomparable stage in society. An example can bring this notion home. My father told me when he was in high school, many parents got help from their children's teachers. It was strange to me, but he mentioned that since people suffered from illiteracy many individuals inclined to take advice from teachers; as a result, teachers took advantage of their highly prestigious career which helped them to influence people's life.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons and points into account, I do believe that teachers in the past had a better situation in society. Because in the past technology was not emerged and also school and particularly teaching was a job which high prestigious among people.