Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

I totally agree with the statement that television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Television programs engage us for a long time and we have not been released. There are several reasons and examples which support my position in the essay.

First, in olden days family members sat together and talked about their whole day whereas today everyone watches television and ignores each other. Everyone chooses television to feel relaxed and happy and repressed emotional burden due to daily work load. The better way is to talk about the whole day with family members and resolve all issues. For example, when I was young we did not have television and my family would take dinner together and talk about the whole day but now we all prefer watching television shows while dinner. Due to this shift I have observed lacking in communication between my family members.

Second, today people talk about television shows first among friends. It is easy to talk about something other than emotions or feelings. People try to find friends who have common choices of television shows so that they can spend time watching or talking about those shows. For instance, on weekends my friends gather for parties and most of the time we all talk about movies or we watch movies and no one cares about healthy communication about everyone.

Third, nowadays the psychologists found so many behavioral problems in children. After a research they found communication gap between family members is one of the major reasons behind behavioral disturbances. There are so many case studies indicating adolescents did crime due to inattention of parents or friends. For example, my nieces started self harm behaviors because no one talked with her and everyone spent most of their time watching television.

Finally, aforementioned reasons and examples are few from plenty present around us. Communication is the most important key to making a healthy relationship and it gets destroyed by television and other such electronic devices.