Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Social activities related to what students study are worth receiving financial support as much as classes and libraries do, but sports and activities which is not related their academic achievements don't deserve financial support equally.

First of all, financial support is meant to be used for the purpose of helping students to acquire enough knowledge to work skillfully in the future. In order for students to study efficiently, universities should prepare enough resources. So we should spend it not on activities irrelevant to academic achievements, but on academic necessities. For example, ten years ago my university decided to decrease the financial support for club activities, and spend more money on studying materials. After that the number of textbooks we can use in the library has increased, and this has made many students' studying easier.

Second, when sports and social activities unrelated to studying receive large financial support, students will expand such activities and spend more and more time on them. This will lead them to spend less time on studying, and their academic performance will be poorer. For example, one of my friends belong to a soccer club in the university of Tokyo, which is one of the most prestigious universities in Japan. Last year his team performed much better than in the past and received more financial support from the university. Then he spent many hours practicing soccer and studied less, thus he failed many of his grades and repeated another year in school. As we can see from this story, university's providing non-academic activities with more money will result in students' poor academic performance.