Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A person should never make an important decision alone.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People face a lot of challenges in life and in order to overcome them sometimes we have to make tough choices. Personally, I think that when an individual has to make a crucial decision, he should discuss it with someone else. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, other people might have experienced the same problem and therefore, they could provide us with a valuable advice. If our friends or family members were in the same circumstances, they could share what kind of consequences their decisions had, and so we could decide whether or not we would follow their example. My personal experience illustrates this reality. When a few months ago, my husband and I decided to purchase a house, we were looking for a bank that could finance it. In fact, many financial institutions wanted to work with us. However, we wanted to find the one which could benefit us the most. Therefore, we have asked for advice from our friend who recently bought a house himself. He explained us in detail which bank was better to deal with and as a result, we were able to successfully finance our purchase and save money.

Secondly, people with families have to consider preferences of their beloved ones before making decisions. Otherwise, it can threaten their relationships. For instance, right after moving to a new house I bought an expensive dishwasher without asking my spouse if he was up for this. When he found out about the purchase he got really mad and did not talk to me for a few days. He said that he wanted to spend the money on his car replacement since the vehicle broke down all the time. If I had discussed my plans with my husband, I would have avoided the conflict. Although after this incident I sometimes buy costly products, I always talk about them with my spouse prior to a purchase, and so we do not fight anymore. That is why in my opinion our intentions should be debated with our family members.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that critical choices have not to be made alone. This is because it can help people to make the best decisions, and will prevent conflicts between them.