do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Forcing all university students, no matter what their major is, to take history courses and ancient studies would recognize an ambivalent approach. From my vantage point, approaches of this kind not only would refrain students to progress in their specific field of study but also would take their time and money.

First and for most, allocating some courses to history will not contribute to students as to gain better knowledge of their majors. There are thousands of hundreds major in universities which in students would be enrolled in. From computer science to philosophy, or biology to astronomy. Having students of these eminent majors to study history would not make sense at all. For example, why must an IT student with avid mindset to technology take history courses in order to obtain his/her degree? Or some students with an ample desire of gaining their degrees in medical sciences would find history courses both compulsory and bothering. Nevertheless, there are some courses in every program related to history, students doesn’t really need to know about past centuries and world rulers. That is to say, a biologist may encounter a course concerning to history of biological phenomenon, but these sort of courses are much more practical and useful for them rather than those courses related to history of the world, kings and kingdoms.

Equally important is the fact that students basically are tied with their schedule and their curriculum. Some may even work part time parallel to their studies as to pay the living bills. Thereby, forcing these students not only would contribute to their knowledge, but it will increase their level of stress and take their time as well. For instance, a mathematic student has plenty of schoolwork to deal with. We only take his/her time by having him/her in history class. The time that he/she can spend on his/her own field of study.

Last but not least, as students pay great and expensive tuitions, it is not fair to increase their tuitions by adding some other courses of history. That is to say, even those people who have gained their university degrees, are now dealing with debts of their university tuitions. Therefore, there is no need to put students in much more trouble.

In conclusion, although some may think history courses should be compulsory for university students, I am of the opinion not to trouble students. No practical use of such courses in every majors, waste of money and time are the reasons that convince me to hold opposed view.