Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone nowadays believes that knowledge is the key factor that led people to success and most of them trying to fulfill the university with their best. Also, there are some arguments about the university students must take at least one history course or not whatever their major is. From my point of view, I think it would be the waste of time rather than knowledge.

To begin with, even though the history is important for students to know, it is not a responsibility of the university to educate the students with historical knowledge. I believe that the university should encourage the students to focus more on their major fields to become exceptional ones in the future. Moreover, if the university requires their all students to take a history class, they have to spend much money to provide all of them with enough space. It would be way better to spend that money on improving the laboratory or library instead which helps the students to motivate themselves. For example, in high school years, students choose their lessons to study based on their interest rather than study everything like the middle school. I think all those help the students to find their true passion.

Another reason is, the history class would take most of the students' time to study because it requires a lot of critical thinking from the students to understand the concepts. Also, the last years of the university have a strong pressure for the students in order to graduate, they need much time to study their main major. For example, one of my sisters said she struggled to study a history course because it has many papers, exams, and reading materials. Also, it left not enough time to concentrate on the rest of her lessons. Every time of the students' is important for them to improve themselves, not to spend them in trivial things like history courses if they are not interested in. Besides, they could learn about history out of the classroom without any pressure if they really want to.

All in all, I think it is the student's choice to learn history or not, it would be optional in the university in order to build more powerful, experienced workers and inventors in society.