Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

new Roman","serif"">The rapid evolution of technology, faster growing population, increasing competition for employment in the last few decades has challenged mankind in numerous ways. these challenges had never allowed people to enjoy the complete happiness and always made them lead a unsatisfactory life. it remains a mystery still whether the rapid changes are the boon or bane to the society. In my opinion, people today are less happier than the people in the past due to the following reasons.

new Roman","serif"">first of all, with the growing technology and its upgradations, grows the demand to update new things and techniques. Most of the people especially from the past generation find it difficult to learn the new technologies and the techniques. In the digital world, where everything is dependent on internet and gadgets, more and more learning curve is needed to perform the tasks. For instance, we recently planned for a family vacation to a hill station. From the flight tickets to the hotel rooms, everything had to be booked online. my father though highly educated, found it really arduous to book by himself and hence he sought my help to book the tickets. he was unhappy with the entire process being digitalised as he was not familiar with the steps.

new Roman","serif"">moreover, there are new technologies and new versions of mobile phones introduced every now and then. Samsung itself releases 2 to 3 versions of mobile phones in a year. Couple of decade ago, when I bought my first mobile phone, there were very few models alone in the market. However the wide range of makes and models of mobile phones confused me a lot and I was puzzled to select one among that. this results in more expenditure and also creates lot of electronic waste.

new Roman","serif"">Even in education, there is a constant change in the concepts and advancements which necessitate more and more degrees. For example , I did my undergraduation in dentistry. With the advances in the profession, I had to do postgraduation to further upgrade my knowledge and later on with the introduction of implants, I had to further my studies on implants. With the eternal demand to learn and upgrade, I lost all the fun in life.

new Roman","serif"">moreover, the exponential increase in the number of industries, have increased the amount of pollutants in the air and water that had further deteriorated the health of mankind. this is evident from the increase in the incidence of various respiratory diseases and cancer which perplexed the human race these days. though these factories provide employment to many, the setbacks coming with them cannot be denied. The huge increase in automobiles also exhaust lot of air polluting the air furthermore.

new Roman","serif"">To sum up, the world is growing at a fast pace, demanding the human race to chase behind the rapidly evolving scenario. this has confused and challenged the mankind in many ways without any doubt.