Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is a truth universally acknowledged that technological advancement, such as the invention of computers, internet, and cell phone, is indispensable in our lives, contributing great deal to the contemporary society. This, too, has a profound impact in the field of education. Some people may argue that this improvement is of negative influence on children because students are distracted by the devices, making them hardly concentrate on their study. Others, in contrast, suggest that these devices can help teenagers to learn. I personally agree with the latter opinion, and I will delve into the reasons behind it.

First and foremost, with the access to the internet, children are able to view the countless learning materials. They can know the latest news in the world, get tutorial classes from online tutors, and search data for their studies. Under the exposure to these information, students can develop a more in-depth understanding towards the concepts in their textbooks. On the other hand, it is a totally different picture without the advance technology. People can rarely obtain knowledge outside the books. My grandfather, for instance, once told me that when he was a student, he could only learn from a book that passed from his father, which was torn and outdated. He was sometimes envy to the current generation as they could acquire all the knowledge.

Furthermore, technological inventions, which stimulate various type of entertainment, including online games, video, and social networking allows people to relieve stress. Because of the heavy schoolwork, such as tests, presentation, research paper, and homework, teenagers are facing overwhelming pressure. Research shows that if adolescents are overstretched, their academic performance will decline because they cannot handle the massive works. Online entertainment can help them out. Adolescents can restore their power through online leisure. For example, I always play video games for half an hour every day to relax. This way, I can temporary forget my homework. This help me to focus better and therefore increase my efficiency when I learn.

Admittedly, teenagers, who are often not mature enough and lack of self-control, may digress by the dazzling online world. Many parents are worrying that children will be addicted and thus cause a decline in their academic results. However, this problem can be solve by restricting the time they spend on technological devices.

In short, all the evidence and examples lead to the conclusion that technological facilities have a positive impact on education, as long as children use them for an adequate time.