Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

With the advent and improvements of technology, gaining information about what is happening around, as well as on the other side of the universe is very easy. Some people believe that we should mind our own business. They might just prefer to listen to local news and do not care for other worldwide news. However, I am of the opinion that people should be aware of what is occurring around the world. I feel this because of two reasons: people can help each other and learn from similar experiences. I will explore these reasons in the following essay.

First, people can help each other around the world. People are sympathetic towards other human beings by nature. The main parts of human characteristics are built related to society and in relation with others. One of the distinctive hallmarks that differentiate people from animals, is their desire to communicate. Some dictator leaders claim that their people can survive and be prosperous without any need to contact other people. Despite this claim, I believe that a healthy society requires to get in touch with others around the world. For example, recently a disastrous earthquake happened in one of the Thailand’s Islands. Many people got killed. Thanks to the world-wide news many people found out about the earthquake and donated many things to the country. By people’s assistance, many of the financial and emotional predicaments of the people got alleviated. Furthermore, those who helped felt a lot happy too.

In addition to helping, it helps people learn from similar experiences. No country has a unique history. When you search the political history and the events in different countries, you find out that they are similar in many aspects. Therefore, people can take advantage of the experiences that others have had. By a way of example, I recall that a huge violation of law happened in one country during the election. News covered all the details and you could see that the reporters and experts were discussing the reasons of the cheating on the election every day. This incident had a very large impact in my country during the election. People who were worried that the same thing might happen here too seriously asked the government to be careful during the election. I think, if it were not for the news coverage, we would not have had that lawful election.

In conclusion, and on the basis of the aforementioned agreements, I would like to reiterate that I think that It is very crucial to know about the news around the world. I feel this because people can assist each other and because they can learn from experiences of the people around the world.