Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Events that happen around the world have a significant impact on our daily life. These are the occurrences that shape our lives. Some people believe that it is important to know about events happening around the world while others disagree. In my view, it is vital to know about occurrences around ourselves for two important reasons.

First is that knowing events that allow us to up-to-date with information, which builds up our knowledge. If we do not familiar with events around us, we may not able to cope up with the world. For example, I always read newspapers, watching TV news to flooded myself with the information. When I read through the newspaper, I familiar with many sections like world business news, cultural news, technology and new innovation of various arts and science field. These various genres of information make me more knowledgeable. Sometimes in the feature article, the newspaper provides emerging faces in the world who make the world better by using their newly developed technology, urban planning techniques. Recently, I was encountered with an emerging face who made an effective plan for the betterment of Australian transport system. As you can see, knowing events around the world made me more up-to-date with information.

Second, you won't be suffered if you get connected with the current events. For instance, a few months ago my country underwent political turmoil. So, many of the opposition parties were tried to lessen the activity of the state by imposing strike. In a day of a strike, no private transport systems like buses or private vehicles are available. So, the citizen has to rely on public transportation like trains, subways. I had a TOEFL test on 4th October. Few days before the October 4, one of the largest opposition party called upon a state strike. And I knew it from live TV news. After knowing that, I immediately purchased a train ticket to travel in the day of 4th October. As a result, I won't suffer from the strike and easily reached my destination. This experience taught me that if I hadn't connected with upcoming events throw TV news, I would fall into great trouble.

In conclusion, it is vital to know that what happens around you.