Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A University has a considerable impact on the students lives. It is the highest institution where one can learn about many subjects. Some people believe that all university students should be required to take history courses regardless their background of study while others disagree. In my view, there is no need to take history courses for all university students for two important reasons.

First is that addition of history courses will put enormous pressure on many students. The students whose background are unrelated to arts or social study, taking an additional course will be a burden. For example, when I was in University, I have seen one of my friend who was from commerce background. So, he needs to focus on economics, business management, finance, and business-related subjects. And studying those courses one student have to do huge works. Every course requires giving the test as well as assignment and practical work. So, there was a huge load of work. My friend also did all the works required for his study. As a result, he had not enough time to take others courses. But his department insists to take a history course in order to be a graduate. So, ultimately he took the history course. And because of that, he suffered a colossal pressure on his normal study. Therefore he did not do well this particular course even he got bad marks on his majors also. As you can see, how history course put pressure on the students whose majors are unrelated to history.

Second, it is unnecessary and a waste of time and money for many of the students. The students who are from science background do not need to take history courses. For instance, I studied biotechnology at a university. Biotechnology is a specialized branch of biology. And when I studied it I faced with many scientific experiments like DNA isolation, southern booting, gene cloning. These are highly sophisticated science where I do not need to earn knowledge from history or any other field. If I put my time on taking such a course as a history, then it just takes my time. I cannot able to put my concentration on my majors. If we put time on such an unrelated subject, we cannot be able to give ample amount of time for our research.