Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

It goes without saying that in this sophisticated and bustling world, every day various types of events occur which someone is horrible and someone is pleasant. There has been a controversial debate among many people about the very notion whether it is significant to be aware of events happening around the world. In my point of view, although it may seem knowing about what occurs in our world is beneficial; this may cause some adverse effects on human beings. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

First, it may waste people's time that could have spent on other daily tasks, instead. Time is the most valuable currency that human beings have and how they opt to spend this treasure plays a major role in their lives. Hearing world news in the morning, especially terrible news, can entirely preoccupy people. Therefore, they would think about it during the day or speak with others about this disaster, instead of concentrating on their job or study. To illustrate this point one only needs refer to when I heard the news of a mosque in Christchurch, I thought and spoke about it for a whole week, besides I was searching on the internet to know more so the number of hours that I studied was drastically decreased.

Second, it may cause unnecessary distress leading to health problems. people are completely affected by what they see or hear in their surroundings, therefore hearing bad news makes them anxious or nervous and the consequence of stress and bad feeling is some health problems. Takes a personal experience as an example, one day my twelve-year-old son see the news of a local war in an African country and he was shocked and at night he cried and shouted.

To sum up, based on all argumentations stated above, one can logically draw the consequence that listening to world news not only is a time-wasting job but also makes people nervous and anxious which is very harmful to their health.