In order to attract more tourists, the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets. Which

why do you think is more effective?

In today’s industrialized world, the tourism industry provides a considerable portion of a country‘s revenue. In this vein, governments have been struggling to seek appropriate ways to attract more tourists. While some people hold the opinion that social security is a staple issue which is initially concerned by tourist, so the government should hire more police to enhance the security level, others stand at the other side of the continuum, believing that the city appearance is in priority, and the government should make the form of cities more appealing. In my point of view, in the first place, the security of a country plays a pivotal role in absorbing tourists and visitors. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, tourists are enthusiastic about traveling to a place where individuals are provided by financial and human security. To put it in other words, tourists before traveling investigate about the place where they would travel there, so they originally consider whether they will be secure or will be threatened by some hazardous. Next, they will consider the beauty and the charm factor. Therefore, the government, in the beginning, should equip the country security system by hiring more police. To illustrate this point one needs only refer to Mexico that is a beautiful country, but it is not the favorite destination of tourists around the world owing to the lack of security and high crime rate.

Furthermore, adverse events occurring for tourists spread quickly rather than a pleasant experience. In this vein, when the security level of a town is low while there are enormous extraordinary landscapes, the negative comments about the social insecurity will be distributed in the tourist information center, for example, some websites on the internet. Consequently, this harmful advice will dissuade passengers who decided to travel to this area. An example can drive this notion home. My friend, Sarah, who is a prosperous tour guide in our picturesque city, explained after a catastrophic occurrence happening for a foreign tourist in our city, the number of tourist coming to this area was dramatically reduced.

To sum up, based on all argumentations stated above, one can logically draw a consequence that government should provide the security of the community before repairing the ancient building and streets. Since tourists initially are keen to travel to secure places, besides a dramatic event can lead to a detrimental impact on future tourists.