Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The modern world has bought many different challenges for humans. Young people, specially students, are expected to be equipped with necessary means to be able to contribute to society in the future. Educational systems and teachers in particular, play a significant role in preparing students properly. Although some people may think it is not appropriate for students to be informed about their teachers' viewpoints of society and political concerns, I believe it is not only necessary for students to know about those views, but it is also beneficial for them. This essay will discuss this matter.

To begin with, as humans are entering a new era with many hard-to-manage situations, they need need to prepare themselves to overcome those problems accurately and appropriately. Students are, in particular, seen as potential power and capable young adults of any society to collaborate with others so that their communities can thrive and succeed. These young people need to learn and develop many useful skills and improve their potential abilities to comprehend rigid problems and discover optimized solutions to those problems. They depend heavily on educational systems and their teachers' approaches and knowledge. An expert teacher should inform them about many things ranging from science, mathematics and more importantly, political issues society is struggling with. Only this approach can truly assist students to fully understand new challenges and problems which they are expected to resolve. For example, I took a sociology course in my undergraduate studies which helped me in numerous ways. My teachers used to hold various workshops and talks and he asked students to participate in controversial debates. He believed this can help them to develop communicational and organizational skills, and also they could learn about different problems their society faces.

In addition, another equally significant point to mention is beside the fact that students should develop political and social viewpoints, it would be more interesting for them to talk about their own concerns and issues. If a teacher provide a suitable environment for students to say their opinions, they not only learn constructive solutions, but they also may enjoy a live discussion in which they feel their voices can be heard. My own experience is a compelling example of this. In my sociology course, after some initial sessions, the professor asked us to talk about some social topics such as the equality issue of men and women or the concept of white marriage which has become widespread in our country. We were expected to prepare some statistical reports and note to discuss in each session. Some students' beliefs towards those issues were unexpected as they held opposing opinions, but after many discussions we learned that we should respect other people's opinions and we can criticize them. Those were invaluable lessons for us.

In conclusion, teachers play a crucial role in students' lives as they can encourage them to learn about difficulties their society is struggling with, and also they can declare their positions and opinions about those problems which can be enjoyable for them. Therefore, I profoundly believe teachers should talk about their own viewpoints to allow students to think and find useful solutions.