Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

I am absolutely disagreed. The main goal of making new freinds or fortifying the old relationships is that human want to socialize. It is not matter that how we manage our socializing process; The impact would be the same. There are some reasons to support my opinion as follows:

First of all, all of us are human and with the same intrinsicly properties. Human tend to find a freind for being rescued from solitary. Managing this process could be different one to one. For instance, someone like to has many freinds that their relationships should remain at a normal level and without infringing to eachother's life; In contrast, someone likes to have a few freinds but, just like a brother; These kind of people are so conservative and according to my experiences, they might have some psychological problems that they can not get along well, with different spectra of people; I mean the ability of handling variety of relationships, including dealing with a cousin, a close freind, a villain, a smuggler etc, is a social skill. By the way, one could not state that the limited number of freinds is better than a vast number; It depends on the personality of individual.

As the second reason, it is one of the charachterestics of adolesents. Needing to sympathy and empathy, nudge them to take some golden freinds who are the treasury of their secrets. Admittedly, those freinds could not be one from their folks. Before and after this era, their mindsets are different. A prime or a kid likes to have lots of freinds and spends days with them. However, this tendancy might be available even in adolesence. So, there is not any valid evidence that implies the generalization of this tendency.

Gaining different experiences is the other reason. Humankind like to thrive and has a huge appetite to try variety things. On the better world and as a paradigm, engineers embed some curves along a specific route to give drivers a kind of pleasure; This idea has been adopted from this psychological issue that people like new things. Finally, the old thing would lose their popularity. All in all, having different freinds sounds more pleasure than having a few freinds to human.

As a summary, were it is not for the intrinsic tendency of people, they would just love with their parents! Basicaly, finding freinds, itself is a kind of instinctively beavior to run from solitary! The role of freinds in our life is indespensable and all of us have to find freinds, whether limited number or a vast number.