Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In civilized and modernized societies, human beings have always strived to improve their living standards and bring more convenience to their day-to-day lives. Today, it is axiomatic that young people usually spend the longer part of their lives with their friends. A plethora of people possess the conviction that it is better for maintaining old friends over a long period of times than making new friends easily, whereas others might exactly hold the opposite view. I firmly endorse the first conviction instead of later one. In what fallows, I am going to aptly delve into the most outstanding reasons to advocate my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that after a while, old fiends become like family members, which can give rise to a strong relationship between them. It should be stressed that when people spend much time with their old friends, they get well familiar with ethical characteristics of each other. Therefore, they are well aware of good and bad manners of each other. By and large, it is established beyond doubt that they trust each other, and this fact is the main reason why they maintain their friendships for a long time. In my own experience, I have two old friends that I just always talked to them about my life problems without any concern. Because I trust them and know that they do not reveal my secrets. In essence, I do not want to talk to new friends about my life problems.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that from a psychological standpoint, people who do not have old friends and quickly change their friends for a short time suffer mental problems. Therefore, they should be under the supervision of a psychiatrist. One of the startling facts, which flabbergasted me, is that why people erroneously think that those who make many new friends are happier than those who have old friends. In fact, it is possible that new friends can hurt one's life and overwhelm her or his. The noteworthy statistics revealed by a social research in my country, show that the most important factor contributing to life of happy individuals is the ability to retain strong relationship with their old friends. Consequently, they would not have been happy had they not maintained friendships with old friends.

To put it in briefly, all the enumerated reasons lead us to the conclusion that the maintenance of relationship with old friend not only makes people happy, but also it can increases trust between people who are friends for a long time. However, a paramount issue that must be mentioned is that this cannot be used as a prescription for everybody and some counterexamples might exist, which are not mentioned above. As a result, conducting more surveys and studies are suggested to answer this question more precisely.