Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In every society and modernized ones, making friends and relationship have always been among primary concerns of human beings' lives. Today, it is axiomatic that people spend the longer part of their life working and they have not enough time to concentrate on their relationships. A plethora of people possess the conviction that it is better to keep the old relationships with few persons for long times, whereas others might hold exactly the opposite view. I firmly endorse the former conviction rather than the latter one. In what follows, I am going to aptly delve into the most outstanding reasons to advocate my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that according to the improvement of all aspects of lives, activities and humans' concerns is going to escalate. Therefore, the people cannot pay enough attention to choose suitable friends. Also, because of complicated situations which everybody is involving with them, understanding the true face of other people is too sophisticated. In my own experience, lacking of recognition of others' personalities leaded to find the wrong person for making relationship in both genders. Since, I did not spend sufficient time on choosing them.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that two person who have made an old relationship with each other can understand themselves more than the new ones. In the other words, in this kind of friendship both sides have used to being together and they are aware of their behaviors is many situations. For instance, the old friends likely know that what reactions do you have about some happenings. Had not they known, they would not have handled their partner's behavior in terrible events.

To put it in briefly, all the enumerated reasons lead us to this issue that not only is maintaining and keeping the old relationships with few friends more beneficial than making the new friends, but also it can preserve the people from the distractive behaviors of the new person. However, a paramount issue that must be mentioned is that this cannot be used as a prescription for everybody and some counter examples might exist, which are not mentioned above. As a result, I suggest some statistical studies and researches to find the more exact answer for this topic.