Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In our life there are many relationships to deal with, among which a vital one is friendship which makes us happy. Some people think it is important to make many new friends overtime, however, I consider it more significant to maintain long-time friendship with a small size of people for the following reasons.

To begin with, long-time friends know me much more than new friends. One essence to happiness in a relationship is that I can talk freely with the person and we discuss everything openly, with our independent yet somehow mutually understanding mind. The situation described is more possible to happen between me and my old friends who have known me for years. In this sense, friends in a long period of time is more important for me to be happy.

What's more, friends I have maintained for many years are more likely to help me when I am in need. I still remember last time I got a high fever in Beijing in the late night. In the time when I was desperately vulnerable, none of my newly made friends offered to go to hospital with me. Yet one of my best friends since primary school, although not being around, kept me accompanied on the phone all the way to hospital. The following days she frequently asked me how I felt and reminded to take medicine and rest accordingly. It is this experience that further reminds me the importance of some old friends who really care about me. Their existence makes me feel that I am not alone even in the darkest and bitterest night, that I am always surrounded by sunshine and sweetness.

Last, just imagine how happy it would be to have two or three friends who could share with you your best memories from youth when you are eighty or nighty years old. Imagine that you sit by the seaside with breezing touching your silver hair, laughing about the jokes decades ago, tasting the flavor of time. I am really blessed to have some friends of that kind in mind, not many, but enough, enough for me to have the courage to walk the long way ahead.

To sum up, I consider friends as lifelong treasure who understand me, help me and mature with me. It is indeed great fortune to have some long-time friends.