. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship is a valuable possession of mankind, having few good old friends is very important to boost your mind during your tough times. However, making new friends is fun undeniably and is advantageous in certain aspects. In my opinion, maintaining friendship with the small number of people over a long period of time is the righteous thing on which I would like to throw some light in the following essay.

First and foremost, Friends make an inevitable part in one’s life by taking part hand in hand in all ups and downs. Having small number of good friends is more important than having plenty of friends. For example, though we have more than 1000 friends in my social network account, we can share our intimate thoughts and feelings reliably with only few of our close friends. Moreover, it requires lot of trust and belief to share our secrets to someone which necessitates a long period of kinship. The trust will be built overtime in the friendship.

Moreover, only our close friends know us better and guide us in our hardships. They know our thoughts, strengths and weaknesses and guide us in the right path when we reach out to them. New friends, on contrary, may not know these details, and just throw their advice blindly. To add on, maintaining friendship for a long period of time with small number of people requires lot of confidence and trust on those people. These friends will certainly remain loyal for the lifetime. As per the phase, “ the friend in need is a friend indeed” , having few loyal friends is more beneficial than having plethora of friends.

Admittedly, making new friends bring lot of contacts and information about new career, hobbies, entertainment, knowledge etc. When we enter a University or new work place, having lot of friends is incontrovertibly exciting as we can have lot of fun. Information about new job opportunities can be passed on through plenty of these contacts but the chances are very minimal.

To conclude hence from the aforementioned reasons, having few good friends who throw a helping hand in need is more important than having plenty of namesake friends who exist just for fun.