Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The importance of family as a unified union has always been a great matter. Throughout history, humans have learned the merits of collective activities and reliance on their own kind specially their own relatives. While people in the past considered large families a great source of power and control, in today's world this has become less important for some reasons. This essay will discuss this matter in thoroughly.

To begin with, as a great source of power, families have played a vital role in society. Humans are social creatures who need to establish fine relationships with others to ensure their survivals in such a challenging world. In the past, people used to have large families consisting of many houses and relatives who would assist each other specially in times of need. During devastating wars, various families allied with each other to fight enemies. Moreover, several members of a family used to collaborate on a specific task, for instance on a farm, to achieve success and thrive. This role has become less significant for many reasons. One main reason might be the fact that people have become busier in this modern world. They have to work harder and in some cases for more hours to provide for their families. Also, in old days, people had less needs and were satisfied with what they had, but now people want to gain more to enjoy the life. As a result, people have less time to spend on a whole unit of relatives.

In addition, financial issues have had great effects on this matter. In the past, some members of a family worked all day and what they earned was enough to support a large family. The modern world has changed this pattern. Even in small families, both parents should work to earn money for several purposes. Some people prefer to travel at least once a year, while some others have to save that money for college expenses of their own children. Furthermore, some people prefer to spend most of what the earn on luxury things such as recreational facilities and they want to enjoy them alone. I remember my grand father used to tell me about his childhood memories. His family was a large one and he has many uncles and aunts as well as many cousins. They used to travel in one group which was enjoyable for them, according to him. They shared what they had, from food to clothes and they wanted all of them to feel a sense of happiness. That was a unique lifestyle and it is not expected from people to follow that in this age.

In conclusion, the unifying role of families have become less important nowadays. People usually have to work long hours to earn money to spend on what they desire and they may not be able to pass the time with their families anymore. I believe, this role was of greater importance in the past and people appreciated having a large family of relatives who helped each other in numerous ways.