Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of the society, there are more and more core family, and the number of extended family is decreasing overtime. For my perspective, extended family is no more important in the modern social environment.

For the first thing, the living condition today is better than the past and it's unnecessary to hold a big family to help with each other. There’s more advanced medicinal treatment, better education system and more convenient city transportation. By contrast, in the old days with low quality of living conditions, people in the family need to help with each other in the period of illness or educating children or other essential things. Taking my family as an example, my mother lived in an extended family and she was taught by my uncle, while I grow up with my parents and get compulsory education.

Furthermore, people nowadays are more likely to spend spare time alone because there are so many ways of entertainment to relax. For example, on the weekend, you can use your time to watch a movie, play video games or work in gym that don't need anyone's accompanyment. However, my father spent most of his childhood with his peers doing outdoor activities. It's obvious that modern people become more independent and extended family is not suitable for them to live in.

In addition, the relationship between people have tendency to increase complexity. Nowadays, when people want to build relationship with someone else, they will find there are too many aspects you have to concern about. But it's easily to conclude that relationship with others was simple and pure in few decades ago. Thus, extended family with so many people could be trouble to all the members in the family.

All in all, extended family is less important now than it was in the past based on above reasons.