Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In contemporary society, people have witnessed huge social changes in our daily life. As the generations evolve, changes in a few things become prominent. What we used to consider valuable yesterday may not carry the same value today. However, some might give the same respect to extended families, while some insist that extended families have become less important in today's world. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter.

To start with, in this fast track world, people are getting busier every day in their world and most often they move to different cities to pursue their careers. Hence they do not have time to remember their extended family members. Everyone has hardly time for their uncle, aunt, or cousins. It's fortunate for those who are living in the same city or town. They can always plan out something like weekly dinner or family get together, but if they do not live in the same city or country then it would be difficult for all to mingle and spend some special moments with their extended family. My family is a convincing example of this, my family and my grandparents, we share the same colony whereas, my aunts and uncles settle in a different state so I hardly meet my aunts and uncles. It's been seven years that I did not see them since nobody cares to meet because everybody is occupied with their private world. It is unlikely to see such a situation in the past. This example illustrates a change in our present-day society.

secondly, there's no enough human value in today's generation unlike people in the past. People just think about themselves. they care less about others even if it's their cousins, uncle, or aunt. For instance, few of my friends have never met their uncles or aunts and they are least willing to see them in the future too. I believe it's sole because of changing worlds and lost of humanity. People becoming self-centered. Surveys by the researcher have revealed that sixty percent of students don't remember their uncles or aunt's name.

In conclusion, I believe that due to the evolution of this modern world, people being are self-centered and care more about themselves, therefore, we get to see less importance of extended family.