Do you agree or disagree? People who always criticize others cannot be a member of a group.

Being critical is not always welcomed in groups and for most people it is a drudgery to face criticism. This might be because we tend to doubt the intentions of the detractor, we might assume that such a person intends to hurt our feelings by criticizing us, or maybe he/ she is trying to construct self-esteem for himself by destructing ours. But, in my opinion, groups should actually cherish such a member, of course if we do not take criticism the same thing as constant nagging.

Developing a critical point of view is not easy at all; usually, it is not something that comes naturally; in other words, it is a skill to be able to see the world in a different way. This kind of disposition might lead a person to not only be able to see the world in a new way, but also to judge people and situations more creatively. In a group, especially if the group is supposed to achieve a certain goal, creativity might come with criticism. But if we do not forget that in the group we are all trying to gain the same thing, then we might face the constant criticism with open arms, because it helps us all to scrutinize our matters from different angles that we might not have thought of. While/When I was a graduate student in architectural history, we were often asked to conduct research projects in small groups. A friend of mine at that time was actually such a person and her opinions in every step of each project were critical of what had been done. But in the end, our results were usually much more interesting and novel.

Another advantage of having such a teammate is having constant amusement! People who are always critical of other people, tend to gain a sense of humor to soften what they say and it is always pleasant to have a humorous person in the group. The important thing in this case too is that we do not doubt that specific person’s motives, since after all we are all in the same ship. When work gets hard and the tension rises up, that same person could be the savior of the group by cooling things down thanks to the pleasant sense of humor which is actually fueled with criticism. In friendship groups, this is especially pleasant and important. Once my friends and I went on a hiking trip and we got lost. Although it was literally our leader’s fault, our sometimes annoying friend who was always mocking us all, was the one who cheered us up the whole time. Make sure the example adequately addresses the topic.

So, to wrap up, I would say that if we trust such people, the ones that see the world in a completely different way and are always critical of everything that is wrong in our surroundings, we can actually learn a lot and also enjoy our time whilst working or even having fun.