Do you agree or disagree?

People who always criticize others cannot be a member of a group.

In the modern era, most of the tasks in different areas are done by groups rather than individuals. However, the success of a group greatly depends on the individuals' characteristics. Some people in a group always criticize others. While some people believe that such members' presence improves group efficiency, I am of the opinion that criticizing people cannot be a member of a group. I will explain my viewpoint in the following essay.

First and foremost, critical people usually cause resentment and make their groupmates upset. Group members must accept criticisms to improve their performance. But if someone always tries to make negative and sometimes rude comments about them, they would become sad and lose their self-confidence. Critical people who are always nagging about other people make their work environment unfriendly and toxic. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Five years ago, I worked in a company as an accountant with a group. First, I was really pleased with my work condition and salary and also my colleagues. After one year of working there, one of my colleagues retired, and he was replaced with another newcomer accountant. At the beginning of his work, he started to give negative feedback about other members' work. He even judged everything that was none of his business. My old colleagues and I were not happy with this negative energy that he gave to us. I was about to resign because, after some time, I felt that I don’t work well enough. Eventually, I requested our manager to move to another branch of the company to get rid of that unfair judgments and criticisms.

Moreover, members who always try to find others' weak spots can barely concentrate on their own work. These people are usually busy focusing on other members' performance and pointing out what is wrong with their work or behavior. Consequently, they would be easily distracted by the smallest things happening around them and decrease the group's overall performance quality. For instance, when I was working in the aforementioned company, my critical colleague was always seeking a subject to start criticizing. He never tried to enhance his own productivity. Instead, he put all his energy into other people's behavior and manner. This affected all group's efficiency. I remember that one of my colleagues, Sarah, committed a mistake in accounting that was really detrimental to the company's reputation because she was completely distracted by our critical colleague that day. She was fired when it came out that the mistake was made by her. If he had not damaged Sarah's concentration by his meaningless negative comments, Sarah has not been fired after five years working there. So critical persons not only waste their energy but also have a negative influence on others' performance.

In a nutshell, I believe that critical people cannot be a group member because they make the other members feel upset and unvalued and because they allocate most of their concentration on their groupmates' work rather than their own.