High school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for student learning and why?

Students all over the world are the paramount wellspring of new ideas and ingenious techniques. Schools play an important role in upbringing and growing these recourses as best as possible. Teachers, as well as the way they use to teach, are the core of this effort, In this regard. Some people think that teachers will spend most of the class time lecturing while students take notes and listen, others think otherwise. I, personally, subscribe to the idea in which students should have the right to discuss and participate in teaching in addition to their teachers. Reasons to support this idea are manifold, two of which are stated in detail hereunder.

To begin with, the chief reason for approving the latter idea is that this action tends to prepare students to act better in their futures. Consider students who are taught by teachers who give them the right to discuss and exchange their idea as "Active students." Active students, indeed, will be taught both their lessons and social activities. Active students tend to become more logical, for when they can talk about their ideas, they will understand that there are other ideas which might not exactly be the same as theirs. Therefore, they not only can learn how to defend their ideas, but they also can learn how to respect other ideas as well. In fact, they are gradually being taught for some positive behaviors which weigh more than learning a school lesson only. The other teachers, on the other hand, is alleged to have nothing for students but learning them a task which they can even study at their houses or in some cases, listening to a teacher's tape maybe suffice.

Moreover, active students are more likely to learn their lessons precisely. This is, because when they argue together, they may become curious to search whether other ideas are really better than theirs or not. In this circumstance, they seem to do not lean only on their books. Rather, they will value other books for a deeper search, so, concepts will better stick in their mind. Furthermore, they will be taught how a concept or a problem can have other aspects as well and this can have an impact on their way of learning. For instance, some students may use some codes to remember other aspects of a context, however, they can code it by remembering who has said what aspect. In contrast, the worst disadvantage of the former way of teaching is that in a hard situation, when students become ill during their exams, for example, they cannot study, and as a result, they will give a lower grade and probably lose the A. In the active student cases, however, inasmuch as teachers know the real knowledge of each student, hard situations are more likely to be tackled.

To sum up, with all taken into account, I do believe that teachers who let students discuss in the classes are better for students as far as preparing students to have a better future and making a situation in which learning will be more effective is concerned.