Many people visit museums when they travel to new places. Why do you think people visit museums? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Museums are the fascinating places, which reveal a lot of secrets of the history of human being. The government keeps sponsoring the maintenance of the museums to give people a chance to dip into the past. Therefore, I think that people visit museums because they can found there something they never heard before and because it is economically beneficial places to spend free time in.

First of all, in museums people can learn about the historical background of the place. Indeed, museums are the great sources of new knowledge, which not only show historical exhibits but also very often provide the verbal description of what they are exposing to the visitors. For example, when a couple of years ago, I was visiting the museum of Elvis Presley, I was able not only look at the house Elvis lived in, but I also was able to hear stories of his life and the house, provided by the audioguide. In fact, during the trip around the museum, I learned a lot of new facts of Presley`s life I never heard before. To that end, any museum is the great place to increase people`s intelligence.

Secondly, the visiting of museums is the low-cost entertainment for people. Most of the museums, especially government funded ones, are free of cost to visit. Therefore, people who are traveling can spend interesting time in the museums without high expenses. For instance, during my first visit to Washington DC, I was short in money. However, I was capable of visiting plenty of the museums of the capital of the United States because they were free of charge. Moreover, down there I met a lot of families with many children, who did not have a significant budget to spend, but they have appreciated the opportunity to visit the places for free. So, the museums make it possible for big families to have an interesting time together with the minimum of expenses.

To conclude, I think that people visit museums for many of reasons. Yet, the most common ones are the intellectual rise and low-cost leisure.