parents in the past had more influence in children's education

It is well-known that children's education is one of the biggest challenges for any parents. Some people think that parents are more committed to children's education these days. On the other hand, other people believe that parents played a more active role in children's behavior. If I were to choose one, I would prefer to go with the latter for many reasons.

First, working daily hours have increased in the last few years because people want to gain more money. Moreover, mothers have been included in this trend since they stopped doing home chores. For instance, my mother worked at home, and only my father worked in a company. Therefore, they controlled me, and consequently, I could only watch tv a few hours a day.

Second, following this idea further, parents established behavior rules such as homework time, bedtime, and free-time in the past. I believe these rules were a great opportunity to teach children about responsibility. For example, this technique was useful throughout my university time because I could do all my daily tasks. However, my oldest child is beginning school, and since I am working all day, I cannot explain to him the timetable benefits.

Finally, throughout my childhood, I could learn many things from my parents because we had more interactions with each other. However, with the advance of new technologies, this particular interaction has changed because children are more focused on video games, plus parents are tired after a lengthy job day. Unless this parent's behavior changes, this trend will continue in the next generations, becoming worse.

To sum up, children's education is a tough one because it needs parents who have to show compromise with their children. I am convinced that in the past, this commitment was better than it is today. There was more interaction between parents and children, parents worked fewer hours a day, and they established some basic rules useful for the children's future.