Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I believe that it is so important that what kind of courses students have to take. Actually, the universities already devoted considerable time to this challenging question that whether history courses are necessary to take or not. I think that the students of all majors should not be required to take the history courses and I have two main reasons which are mentioned below.

First, there are so many majors such as engineering, physics, chemistry, etc. that are not related to the history. The professors of the history courses just concentrate on the stories of the past nations, events, culture, past people, and the revolutions that happened; which non of these contents can not be used in the majors that I mentioned before. So the history courses can not help the students of such majors in their ability, experiences, and even their perspectives in their future careers.

Secondly, most of the students can not memorize the contents and topics of the history books as well and they just read the books for the exams of university. After a while, the students can not remember anything about what they already read and the exam which they passed. It shows us most of the students believe that the history courses are useless and they just read the history books to pass the exams and after that, they forget everything about that course. So it is better to eliminate these kinds of useless courses and replace them with more attractive and useful courses that will be remained on the students' minds.

All in all, I think that it is better to give this choice to the students, whether they want to take the history courses or not and the university should remove the history courses from the obligatory courses' list due to two main reasons that I explain them briefly. First, the major of most of the students is not related to the history and they can not have any advantage from the history courses. Secondly, most of the students do not like to take history courses and forgetting the all contents of this course just after a while is one of the evidence of this fact. So it is much better to eliminate these kinds of useless courses and replace them with more attractive courses.