Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Life is growing at a very fast pace. The developments in technology in every field is revolutionizing the entire world by making lives easy and comfortable due to vast scientific and technological research. Twenty years is a very long period when it comes to technological developments considering the alarming pace of developments happening around the world. The increasing technology not only is a boon to the mankind but also poses a huge threat. This is applicable to all the domains and even applicable to the automobile industry especially the cars. There would be a huge impact on the number of cars twenty years from now. In my view, there will be fewer cars in use than there is today because of environmental causes, over-congestion and increased public transport.

The first reason I propose to support the argument is the problem of over-congestion. Over congestion means when the traffic or cars are unable to move because of a large number of cars blocking the road. Since over the last 15 years the number of cars increased to such a high amount that it is almost a saturation because the road available to cars are much less than the number of cars and hence increased traffic jams. and in next five years the number of cars will oversaturate and after that people won't be able to drive cars on road because of high traffic and this will lead to a reduction in a number of cars for the next 10-15 years and the number will drastically go down. This decline has already begun for instance consider Bangalore, the traffic in Bangalore is enormous that it might take even 4-5 hours to travel 1.5 km and due to this traffic congestion, the number of cars drastically reduced by over 30% in last 5 years.

The second reason I state to support the argument is the environmental impacts of cars. Present day cars release greenhouse gases such as Carbon monoxide which is a very harmful pollutant as well. Increased air pollution and increased green house effect will cause global warming and the entire world would hold hand together to tackle such a big issue by reducing the number of vehicles. Similar happened in New Delhi when the air quality index in Delhi was very very high and also indicated the presence of pollutants. This was attributed to increased traffic and in winters it created smog and even days were much darker even in bright sunlight due to the presence of smog. So the Delhi Government took steps by introducing the odd-even policy in which one-day odd-numbered vehicles will move on the road and alternate day even. this reduction in a number of cars led to reduced pollution and improved environment of Delhi.

The third factor I would propose is the improvement in Public Transport by introducing busses, local trains, metro. For example, in the case of Kolkata coming up of Kolkata metro revolutionized the entire traffic which reduced the number of cars.

Therefore considering all these factors, I presume there will be fewer cars in the future than in use today.