Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet

access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in

touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Most of our parents agree that smartphones with internet access are essential gadgets for keeping a link between children and parents whereas some prevent their children from having them. In today's growing society and increasing number of technological items, it is difficult to deprive children from having a cellphone.

Firstly, almost everything around us is computerized. From traditional classrooms with black/white boards to projecting screens, from paper assignments to printed research work from computer and printers. Everything around us is somewhat getting computerized. For example, when i was in school, i studied from textbooks and our teachers used to teach us using chalkboard for writing down lessons. This was only in practice until i was in grade 8. After that the chalkboards were transformed into whiteboards with markers until grade 12th. Finally, projection screens are in practice in colleges and universities. And most of our assignments are from online researches that our teachers encourage us to do. And technology is greatly impacting our lives to an extend that i doubt that the 3rd generation will even how how paper looks like. Since everything is being done on computers these days, the tablets will soon replace papers and notebooks will replace our textbooks for class. Therefore, why keep only one gadget away from children when they have exposure to other electronics.

Secondly, children go to school everyday, normally for 8 hours away from parents. If a parent needs to contact them, they either have to call the administration office and wait on call for long periods of time. Also, if a child is going for outing or for group study, then again parents will not be able to get in touch with them quickly.For example, when i was in grade 10, i did not own any cell phone and i was out with my friends, that day i was stuck in traffic and could not reach home in time. My mother was extremely worried until i was able to call her from my friend's phone. Once she knew i was ok then she was relaxed and immediately thought of buying a smartphone for me too.

Lastly, if children are not provided with cellphone they are not able to socialize better. That is texting, calling their friends, facebooking and will not be able to get intouch with their class teachers when they need help in assignment. Also, the smartphones come with additional features such as dictionary that aids in the learning of a student.So, i agree that students should have cell phones however, there should also be restriction placed on its usage so that children do need abuse the freedom of owning a cellphone because sometimes they often play too many games and talk to their friends for hours that is a waste of time.