Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

In order to become successful in later career, it is critically important for school-age children to earn good grade in school. Parents can encourage their children to study well so that they get high mark in exams by awarding them some prizes for outstanding results. However, young children should never be awarded with money.

To begin with, awarding children with money brings with it a risk of providing them an opportunity to waste that money in harmful practices. The money they receive may be wasted in buying harmful fast foods or toys. For instance, few years ago, I gave my young brother some money to keep my promise to him that I would award him if he does well in the examination. Later I noticed that he bought a video game with that money. Eventually, he lost his interest in reading and got himself addicted to the video game. Doing this he could not study well and prepare adequately for his next examination. Consequently, I found out that he was among the last of his class in the next examination of him. It took a lot of effort of us to escape him from his addiction towards game and force him to study. If I had not given him that money, he would not be able to buy the video game and might perform well in the examination.

On the other hand, if parents can encourage their children to do well in the exams by buying them gifts that are beneficial for them, they would easily ensure the success of their children. There are some toys available in the market which would require the children to use their brain if they want to play with it. Playing with these toys, thus ensure the mental growth of the children. Moreover, many parents offer books to the children; books are our best friend and help us to know about the world. For example, if a child is awarded with a book full of moral stories, then the stories of the book would edifice the character of that child as it reads that book. In addition, reading books is a type of addiction, and upon finishing that particular book the child would demand for another book, which would help it to make friendship with books that is necessary to make life more beautiful.

In conclusion, parents should never offer money to their children as a gift for doing well in the examinations. Instead, they should offer the young learners gifts that are helpful for the growth of them as proper human beings.