Some young people have free time in the evenings after school or on days off from school. Which of the following activities would be most beneficial for young people (age 14-18) to do in their spare time? Why?

Getting practical work experience either at a part time job or by volunteering in the community

Learning to play a sport

Learning to play a musical instrument

It is evident that in this highly sophisticated world, human beings have been struggling to find a way to spend every moment of their life with joy and happiness in order to enjoy their life span. In this regard, all individuals try to find the best way to reach this goal, whether be young or adult. Some people tend to believe that getting some practical works such as a part-time job or learning to play a musical instrument have many advantages to do for young people in their spare time. However, from my perspective, learning to play a sport and doing exercises would be more beneficial for this group of people. In what follows, I will try to provide some cogent reasons to support my opinion.

First and foremost, learning to play a sport and doing it in their leisure time, will help young people to alleviate their tension and pressure which is brought from school time. It goes without saying that, doing sports have various positive impacts on human’s health such as relieving stress and tension coming from stressful task and situations during the day. Moreover, since young people do not have enough time in their school to learn and do sport because of the education system of most of the countries which focus on theoretical courses, learning a sport after school would be a great opportunity to use their free time in the best way. In other words, all students spend about 6 hours a day to learn sophisticated courses such as mathematics, physics, chemists and so on including lots of assignments which cause lots of stress and pressure for students; however, they only spend two hours a week for the sport time in their school. Thus, learning and doing sport after school not only helps them to alleviate their stress but also they can enjoy their free time with numerous profits by doing sport.

Another explanation for my point of view rests on the fact that learning to play a sport in young people’s spare time will develop their social skills. In other words, most of the young people going to the gym or sports club to learn and do sport. This clarified the fact that in these places young individuals have more time to communicate with others having similar interests in one sports subject; however, they do not have this opportunity during their school time. To put it vividly, when young people decide to learn one sport or even doing some exercises in their spare time, by going to the gym can start new friendship for, other who spend their time in that place has a lot in common with each other which not only helps them to find many friends but also they can learn how to communicate with each other, how to interact with each other with respect and dignity. As a result, the more time young people for learning allocate, the more friends and social skills they would gain.

In short, all of the reasons mentioned above lead us to the conclusion that it would be more beneficial for young people to learn a sport and do it. Because they can alleviate their stress and pressure to stay productive all day long and improve their social skills which help them have more friends and strong relationships.